(Kopie 1)

The location of the hospital

The hospital is situated in a high valley (2400 above sea level) in the province of Wardak, the district of Chak, about 65 km south west of Kabul, in a very favourable situation. The river Chak provides abounding water for the fertile valley throughout the year.

A hydro-electric power plant, which was built by SIEMENS in 1939-1942, though heavily damaged and needing repair,  provides free extremely unsteady low current electricity, which can be used for lighting only. However in summer even that electricity is missing as the river water is then needed for the irrigation of the fields.

Therefore Diesel generators provide the rest of electricity. Since 1995 the district has been controlled by the Taliban and fortunately has never been attacked since 1989.  Though there are no mined areas in the valley, again and again mine victims have been brought to the hospital from more distant areas.

The Chak-Valley

Buildings

Besides the hospital buildings there are also buildings for our own kitchen, bakery and laundry on the compound. A complete training centre for women and a small settlement with 10 homes for the staff are attached to it.

Die Lage des Hospitals

Das Hospital befindet sich in einem hoch gelegenem Tal (2400m) in der Provinz Wardak, Distrikt Chak, ca. 65km südwestlich von Kabul, in idealer Lage. Der Chak-Fluß versorgt das fruchtbare Tal ganzjährig reichlich mit Wasser.

Ein von SIEMENS im Jahr 1938-1942 erbautes Wasserkraftwerk versorgt, obwohl stark beschädigt und reparaturbedürftig, das Hospital kostenlos mit stark schwankendem Schwachstrom, der jedoch lediglich für die Beleuchtung nutzbar ist. Im Sommer entfällt auch diese Stromquelle, da das Flusswasser zur Bewässerung der Felder benötigt wird.

Die sonstige Stromversorgung erfolgt über Diesel-Generatoren. Das Gebiet gehörte seit Anfang 1995 zum Herrschaftsbereich der Taliban, blieb jedoch glücklicherweise seit 1989 von jeglichen direkten kriegerischen Einwirkungen verschont. Es gibt im Tal von Chak keine verminten Flächen, doch werden immer wieder Minenopfer aus der weiteren Umgebung zum Hospital gebracht.

Das Chak-Tal

Gebäude

Neben den Hospital-Gebäuden gibt es eine eigene Küche, Bäckerei und Wäscherei. Dazu kommt ein komplettes Ausbildungszentrum für Frauen und eine kleine Siedlung mit 10 Wohnhäusern für das Personal.