(Kopie 1)

This is Karla Schefter’s impressing report of her long lasting work for the Chak- e- Wardak Hospital in Afghanistan.

Published by Ullstein
ISBN 3-350-07182-5
333 pages, 43 colour pictures

Translated into many languages

Text on the cover

Out of curiosity the German OT-head nurse Karla Schefter goes to Afghanistan in 1989. All she knows about this country is: There is a war going on there! After the retreat of the Russian Army the collective war of the different tribes against the occupying Soviet Union had become a fratricidal war.

At the risk of her life she starts to help the war wounded and the sick until she is able to found a hospital in Chak, 70 kilometres from Kabul. Starting with two provisionally equipped rooms in a former hydroelectric power plant she perseveres in establishing a complete hospital compound and is able to keep it working up to today in spite of various dangers and changes of power.

Karla Schefter managed to become an accepted partner in the Afghan men dominated society. She was listened to by the Council of Elders, negotiated with the Mujahideen and even found arrangements with the Taliban, in order to be able to help people, who would have had to live even more desperately without her and the hospital. Although the fundamental Taliban refuse the right to education to all women, Karla Schefter has always trained nurses and midwives and always afforded widows and Afghan women the opportunity of working for her in the hospital.

In September 2001 she- as one of the last foreigners - has to leave the country hurriedly. But she will come back to continue her task. Her experiences related here also show the unknown sides of Afghanistan and its people

Karla Schefters beeindruckender
Bericht über Ihre langjährige Arbeit im
Chak-e-Wardak Hospital in Afganistan.

Ullstein-Verlag
ISBN 3-350-07182-5
333 Seiten 43 Farbfotos
Übersetzt in zahlreiche Sprachen

 

Covertext:

Aus Neugierde geht die deutsche OP-Schwester Karla Schefter 1989 nach Afghanistan. Alles, was sie über dieses Land weiß, ist: Dort herrscht Krieg! Nach dem Rückzug der Roten Armee war aus dem gemeinsamen Krieg der verschiedenen Volksstämme gegen die Besatzungsmacht Sowjetunion ein Bruderkrieg geworden.

Unter Lebensgefahr beginnt Karla Schefter, den Kriegsverletzten und Kranken zu helfen, bis sie in Chak, 70 Kilometer von Kabul entfernt, ein Krankenhaus aufbaut. Aus zwei notdürftig eingerichteten Räumen in einem ehemaligen Kraftwerk errichtet sie mit viel Mühe einen ganzen Krankenhauskomplex und kann den Betrieb bis heute trotz aller Gefahren und Machtwechsel aufrechterhalten.

Karla Schefter setzte sich in der afghanischen Männergesellschaft durch, wurde im Ältestenrat gehört, verhandelte mit den Mudschahedin und arrangierte sich notgedrungen mit den Taliban, um den Menschen helfen zu können, die ohne sie und das Krankenhaus noch verzweifelter leben müssten. Obwohl die fundamentalistischen Taliban allen Frauen das Recht auf eine Ausbildung verweigern, bildet Karla Schefter weiter Krankenschwestern und Hebammen bei sich aus und ermöglicht Witwen und afghanischen Frauen, bei ihr zu arbeiten.

Im September 2001 muss sie als eine der letzten Ausländer das Land fluchtartig verlassen. Aber sie wird zurückkehren, um ihre Arbeit fortzusetzen. Ihre hier versammelten Erlebnisse zeigen auch die unbekannten Seiten Afghanistans und seiner Menschen.